iPhone 13 Pro Max Macro Mode

I love macro photography. True marco 1:1 magnification (or greater) has been a long time favorite of mine for many years. The butterfly in this post was one such shot I took a while back with a Nikon 105mm Macro lens. When Apple announced the new iPhone 13 received a “close focus” lens i was really looking forward to trying it out, yet I rarely remember to use it.

When I do remember to get in close with the iPhone I’m quite pleased with the results. It isn’t true full 1:1 marco photography, but it’s pretty darn close for shots you can take on a phone. The two shots here (not the butterfly of course) were taken of frost on my truck a few days ago. The shot in red was on the hood of the truck, the grey/green was the windshield.

Kite Butterfly with a Nikon 105mm Macro Lens

Shot on iPhone 13 Pro Max of Frost on Winshield

Shot on iPhone 13 Pro Max of Frost on Hood of Truck

Scott Fillmer @slf