Thoughts on Feedly, Inoreader, and RSS Readers

I love the RSS feed and think it’s one of the most powerful tools someone can use to filter and currate content on the web. It’s also one of the most undervalued and underused options. Unfortunately on March 13, 2013, Google announced they were discontinuing Google Reader, stating the product had a loyal but declining following, and at that point, Google pretty much killed the popular use of RSS.

My RSS reader still has several hundred feeds that transferred over to Feedly when Google shut down, but I haven’t opened Feedly in some time. There are several different sites I’m actively using now that have great RSS feeds so I went back to looking at readers and the two main players are Feedly and Inoreader.

Fastfoward to 2022 and I’m pleasantly surprised how great these two apps have been developed. But I’m torn between the two, and both have subscriptions to get full features. Reviews really push Inoreader and the features they offer, but I have found Inoreader to be somewhat confusing, complicated, and complex to do what I want, read. Feedly may be the old non-flashy app but the UI for reading is amazing.

Scott Fillmer @slf